MandaBerry's Books

One person's thoughts on a whole lot of books

On Basilisk Station by David Weber (Honor Harrington #1)

from goodreads.com

Honor Harrington in trouble: Having made him look the fool, she’s been exiled to Basilisk Station in disgrace and set up for ruin by a superior who hates her. Her demoralized crew blames her for their ship’s humiliating posting to an out-of-the-way picket station. The aborigines of the system’s only habitable planet are smoking homicide-inducing hallucinogens. Parliament isn’t sure it wants to keep the place; the major local industry is smuggling, the merchant cartels want her head; the star-conquering, so-called “Republic” of Haven is Up to Something; and Honor Harrington has a single, over-age light cruiser with an armament that doesn’t work to police the entire star system. But the people out to get her have made one mistake. They’ve made her mad.

 My Rating: 3 out of 5

Bookshelf: Yes, for now

How I got it: paperbackswap.com

Honestly? I was quite a bit disappointed with this. I didn’t click with the character at all. Maybe my expectations were a bit too high. I really wanted to love this book since if I did, I’d have to consume the rest of the series in rapid succession. The vast number of books in this series would have kept me occupied for months. I still have the book, and I think I may give it another go, but it’s at the bottom of the TBR mountain, so it may be a while. That may turn out to be a good thing, since it’ll allow me to get all fuzzy on why I didn’t like it. I did pick up the second one just in case, so I’m not counting it out entirely. Now, why didn’t I care for it the first time around? It was Honor herself. I didn’t connect with her at all, and I’m not sure why. I tend to gravitate toward strong female characters that kick butt, and at the time that’s what kind of bender I was on. I had read an installment in the Heris series, I had read one in the Confederation series by Tanya Huff, and I was all ready for feeding the Girl Power mood I was in when this brought me up short. I just don’t know what it was about Honor that just didn’t do it for me. Maybe when I reread it, I’ll either figure it out or change my mind. Here’s to changing my mind 😉

Leave a Reply

