MandaBerry's Books

One person's thoughts on a whole lot of books

Replay by Ken Grimwood

from bn.com

Jeff Winston, forty-three, didn’t know he was a replayer until he died and woke up twenty-five years younger in his college dorm room; he lived another life. And died again. And lived again and died again — in a continuous twenty-five-year cycle — each time starting from scratch at the age of eighteen to reclaim lost loves, remedy past mistakes, or make a fortune in the stock market. A novel of gripping adventure, romance, and fascinating speculation on the nature of time, Replay asks the question: “What if you could live your life over again?”

My Rating: 2 out of 5

Bookshelf: No

How I got it: paperbackswap.com

This wasn’t my favorite. The concept was interesting, and I do enjoy me some time travel stories, but this just didn’t click with me. It’s not that it was poorly written, or that there was anything wrong with it. I didn’t feel connected or concerned about the character, and that, to me, is an important factor. Why should I spend my time reading about a character that I don’t really care about? There are just too many other amazing books out there with characters I could feel something for. I don’t necessarily mean I want to love every character that crosses my path, but even dislike and distaste are welcome rather than not feeling anything. At least then you care if they get their comeuppance.

I also couldn’t help myself by constantly having the movie Groundhog Day pop in my head. It’s the same type of very basic story. Instead of just the one day, this man gets to relive his last 25 years over and over again. It’s interesting to see the different choices he makes each time, but I still couldn’t get that comparison out of my head.

Now, just because it didn’t work for me doesn’t mean it won’t work for you either. If you’re interested in time travel, or a different take on the whole Groundhog Day scenario, give this a shot. It wasn’t a complete waste of time for me because it made me consider a few different “what if” scenarios about what I’d do in that situation, and that was entertaining enough for me.

 

Leave a Reply

