MandaBerry's Books

One person's thoughts on a whole lot of books

Review: Scar Night by Alan Campbell (Deepgate Codex #1)

Scar Night by Alan  Campbell   (Deepgate Codex #1)

From the back of the book

In the city of Deepgate, suspended by chains over a seemingly bottomless abyss, there are two angels: one, an untested boy, the last of his line; the other, a psychotic murderer mad for revenge – or redemption.  When one of the city’s own turns against its people, bringing enemies to its doorstep, both seek a powerful magic at the bottom of the chasm – and learn that what lies below is far more sinister than they’ve been taught to expect…

My Rating: 4 out of 5

Bookshelf: Yes

How I Got It: Bought

I’ll admit I was really confused at first.  The opening scene takes place years before the rest of the story, and I always find that confusing, especially since I’m not yet familiar with that world.  I stuck with it, and I’m glad I did.  I enjoyed the action, and suspense.  One of the characters is pegged as “a psychotic murderer” and rest assured some grisly scenes are included.  I liked most of the characters, but Dill is my favorite.  There were some interesting characteristics of the angels that were new (at least to me), and they added a lot to the story.  I’m not quite familiar with the mythology of angels, so I fear that some of the bigger story or references may have gone over my head.  That being said, I still went out and bought the next book as soon as I was finished with this one.  This could be considered Steampunk, but only just barely.  There’s the whole “city on chains” setting, and there are a few interesting machines, but not enough to be definitively classified as Steampunk.

One response to “Review: Scar Night by Alan Campbell (Deepgate Codex #1)

  1. Pingback: God of Clocks by Alan Campbell (Deepgate Codex #3) « MandaBerry's Books

Leave a Reply

